

Change in Composition of Remuneration Committee

The Board of The Straits Trading Company Limited (the 'Company') wishes to announce a change in the composition of the Remuneration Committee effective today :

Mr. Norman Ip, the sole executive and non-independent director sitting on the Remuneration Committee, has voluntarily stepped down from the Remuneration Committee today. The remaining members of the Remuneration Committee are :

Mr. Michael Hwang (the Chairman) Mr. Michael Wong Pakshong Professor Lim Chong Yah

All the above members are non-executive and independent directors of the Company.

Submitted by Emily Teo (Ms) Secretary

The Straits Trading Company Limited (Registration No. 188700008D) on 8/8/2006 to the SGX