****** THE STRAITS TRADING COMPANY LIMITED

Changes to the Composition of the Audit Committee

The Board of Directors of The Straits Trading Company Limited ('Company') wishes to announce the following changes to the composition of the Audit Committee ('Committee'):

- 1. Y.A.Bhg. Jen (B) Tun Ibrahim Bin Ismail will step down from the Committee on 1 January 2007.
- 2. Tan Sri Dato' Dr. Lin See-Yan and Mr. Bobby Chin Yoke Choong, both non-executive Directors of the Company, have been appointed to the Committee with effect from 1 January 2007.

Both Tan Sri Dato' Dr. Lin See-Yan and Mr. Bobby Chin Yoke Choong are considered independent directors pursuant to Rule 704(8) of the Listing Manual of Singapore Exchange Trading Securities Limited.

The Board would like to record its appreciation to Y.A.Bhg. Jen (B) Tun Ibrahim Bin Ismail for his services and contributions during his term of service as Committee member.

After the changes take effect, the Committee shall comprise the following members:

Mr. Tang I-Fang, Chairman (independent non-executive)
Mr. Michael Hwang (independent non-executive)
Tan Sri Dato' Dr. Lin See-Yan (independent non-executive)
Mr. Bobby Chin Yoke Choong (independent non-executive)

Submitted by Emily Teo (Ms) Secretary

The Straits Trading Company Limited (Registration No. 188700008D) on 28/12/2006 to the SGX